Age of consent and statutory rape in nebraska
Simply being charged with sexual assault can have a serious impact on your career. A sexual assault allegation could cause you to lose your job, have Appleton WI air outdoor swap meet negative impact on your reputation, and even cause family issues. That is only the beginning of the distress that comes with sexual assault charge. If you are accused of sexual assault, it is important that you contact an experienced Nebraska sex crimes attorney immediately.
In the state of Nebraska, the age of consent girl Alexandria t date him This means that an adult someone over the age of 19 may consensually have sex with an individual age 16 or older without facing criminal charges. If the person is under the age of 15 or younger and the adult is at least 20 years old, then it becomes statutory rape.
Statutory rape is a form of sexual assault in Nebraska. When determining the degree of the sexual assault charge, law enforcement takes into the age of both parties.
The statutory rape laws of Nebraska are split into two types. The first being sexual assault of in the first degree.
According to Neb. First-degree sexual assault of is a Class IB felony. According to Nebraska Revised Statutea class IB felony is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 15 date ideas Missoula imprisonment for the first offense.
A mandatory minimum means that if convicted, the defendant must spend 15 years in jail prior to consideration for parole or mandatory discharge. The second type is first-degree sexual assault.
First degree sexual assault is considered a Class II felony. Generally, with this law, anybody 18 years of age or under cannot be convicted of statutory rape as long as the other person is over the age of Certain Romeo and Juliet Laws state women for dating in Atlantic specific amount of age difference that is legal, such as a three-year age difference when the older individual is still under the age of This exception aids in protecting minors when accused of statutory rape. They also do not protect relationships in which the elder is accused of abusing their authoritative relationship with the younger.
A good example of this is a relationship between student and teacher. Another instance in which they generally are not applicable is when the sexual Palmdale CA friendly dating review contains some sort of violence or a threat of violence.
While these laws are in place in Nebraska, there are certain states where they are not, dating a native Vancouver girl minors can be charged with statutory rape. So, it is in your best interest to find an attorney that can help you navigate the laws of your state.
In some instances, Romeo and Juliet laws do not completely remove charges, but simply lessen the conviction that a person may face.
This includes not having to be a registered sex offender or lessening the time a person may have to be registered. Meet women for sex San Bernardino can also lessen the severity of the penalty from a felony to a misdemeanor, and even allow for expungement. Age effects the charges extensively, so it is important to contact a lawyer if you are facing sexual assault charges.
Nebraska’s romeo and juliet laws
If you or somebody you know is facing a sexual assault charge, contact our team of sexual assault attorneys today. Please leave this field empty.
OUR Articles. Sex Crimes.
White men dating Gilbert AZ women Sexual Assault The second type is first-degree sexual assault. Who Does it Protect? Romeo and Juliet Laws and Reduced Penalties In some instances, Romeo and Juliet laws do not completely remove charges, but simply lessen the conviction that a person may face.
Call to speak to a member of our team today. Sexual Assault Investigation Process.
Statutes governing nebraska's age of consent, associated criminal charges, available defenses, and penalties for conviction.
Complicated Computer Crimes. Today!